Wednesday, August 29, 2018

First Day of 5th Grade

Today is the last "First Day" for the girls at this school, as next year they will be off to middle school.  What the...?


Kayley and Kona


Olivia and Kona





This is the first time since I started working 4+ years ago, or maybe even longer, that I'm actually a little sad that summer break is over.  Summers have been hard because it's been stressful having to worry about childcare and not being able to go do fun things very much (and having to fight weekend crowds when we do), but now that my work/life balance is so much better these days I was able to enjoy this summer way more than I have the past several.  Fall is still my favorite, though, so I'm not THAT sad!

Tuesday, August 28, 2018

Proposed Schedule

School starts tomorrow (!) so I’ve been thinking about what our schedule will probably look like.  Olivia is doing soccer again this year but Kayley is not.  She is doing dance instead (Hip Hop), and Olivia is doing dance also (ballet) in addition to soccer.  It's going to be a busy fall.


6:15-7:45 - I get up and get ready for work.


7:45-8:40ish - Girls get up and get ready.  I will help with breakfast and lunches (preferably packed the night before, but not always going to happen).


8:40ish - Everybody leaves for work/school.  I imagine that for the first several weeks while the weather is still cooperative they will either walk or ride their bikes with friends.  Otherwise I will drive them.


8:45-9:00ish - I arrive at work.  It’s only 5 minutes away but can take up to 20 minutes if I get stuck behind a bus or something.


3:05 - Paul gets home (he just started a new position with an (even) earlier start time.  He has been getting home at 3:35).


3:40ish - Girls get home from school, have a snack and start their homework.

Then it will vary depending on the day:


Mondays

4:30 - Early dinner for Kayley

5:10 - Paul takes Kayley to dance (5:30-6:15).  Meanwhile, dinner for Olivia.
5:35 - I get home.

5:45 - I take Olivia to soccer.  Or, Paul can take both, drop Kayley first at 5:30, then
drop Olivia at 5:45 and go back for Kayley, arriving about 10-15 minutes before the end of class.  Then either of us could grab Olivia from soccer at 7:30.  But most likely Kayley will get a ride to dance from the neighbor whose daughter/the girls’ friend is also in that class and then either Paul or I will pick them both up.  I think most of the time Kayley will ride with the neighbor, I will take Olivia to soccer and walk the dog during practice while Paul picks up Kayley and the neighbor girl from dance.  Whew.


6:35 - Dinner for Kayley if she didn’t already eat earlier, finish homework, free time.

7:40 - Olivia home, finish homework, free time.

8:30 - Electronic device cut-off.  Shower, brush teeth, read, etc.

9:00 - Paul goes to bed (he gets up super early (before 4 sometimes) to go to gym before work most days).

9:30 - Bedtime for girls (will always shoot for 9:00 but 9:30 is more realistic).  Alone time for me—watch TV, computer stuff, then read before bed.

10:30 or 11:00 - Bedtime for me.


Tuesdays

4:25 - Paul takes Olivia to dance (4:45-5:40), or most likely she will ride with the above mentioned neighbor whose other daughter is in Olivia’s dance class.

5:20 - Paul leaves to pick up Olivia and most likely the neighbor girl at 5:40

5:30 - I get home
6:00 - Dinner

6:30-8:30 - Finish homework (them), clean up, next day prep, miscellaneous chores (me and Paul)

8:30 - Electronic device cut-off.  Shower, brush teeth, read, etc.

9:30 - Bedtime for girls.  Alone time for me—watch TV, computer stuff, then read before bed.

10:30 or 11:00 - Bedtime for me.


Wednesdays

5:00 - Dinner for Olivia, then get ready for soccer.

5:45 - Take Olivia to soccer (6-7:30).

6:30ish - Dinner for the rest of us.

7:40 - Olivia home, finish homework, free time.

8:30 - Electronic device cut-off.  Shower, brush teeth, read, etc.

9:30 - Bedtime for girls.  Alone time for me—watch TV, computer stuff, then read before bed.

10:30 or 11:00    Bedtime for me.

Thursdays
5:30 - I get home
6:00 - Dinner, clean up, next day prep and then same as other days

Fridays
I will work from home most Fridays.
6:00 - I get up, brush my teeth, put hair in ponytail, let the dog out, make coffee and get right to work by 6:30
6:30 - 8:00 - work from home
8:00 - 8:40 - get the girls ready and out the door
8:40 - 1:40 - work from home
1:40ish - girls get home (early dismissal), have a snack, chat about their day
2:00ish - 3:30 - work from home

Friday, August 17, 2018

July

School starts in 12 days and for the first time since returning to work 4+ years ago I'm not quite ready for summer to end.  Almost, but not quite.  I've hated summers in recent years due to the stress of childcare and feeling sad and guilty about not being able to do fun things with the girls, plus enduring all of the 80-something to over 90-degree days without A/C (we at least have them in our bedrooms now).  But with my shorter commute and more PTO they are getting better.  Next summer should be the best yet because I will work from home 2 days a week, Paul will take most Mondays off and the other 2-3 days a week we will just let the girls stay home alone and I will come home on my lunch break to check on them, plus there are plenty of neighborhood moms (that either are stay-at-home or work for the school district) that can keep an eye out.  Also I will finally have enough PTO built up that I can maybe take a whole week off and not go anywhere but just hang around home and go to the lake and what-not (in addition to other time off for our regular summer vacation/Crescent Bar, etc).

Anyway, I usually recap our summers week-by-week, but just never got around to it this year.  Instead I'm going to break it into July and August.  So here was our July:

We spent the 4th of July holiday hanging around home most of the day but in the late afternoon we went to our neighbor’s for a barbeque.  There were fireworks for the kids (all of whom are now old enough to shoot them off themselves with adult supervision) and then at 10:00 our community has a big fireworks show every year at a park, so we went to that.  The next day we went to Crescent Bar and stayed through the weekend.



July 5th was Kona's 1st birthday!



She got some birthday treats which she didn't even like :(


A few weeks later the girls and I went camping with a few friends.  Just moms and kids, no husbands, so Paul had a weekend to himself.  We went to a campground only 25 minutes away with a nice pool.  It was a fun little getaway but I don’t think I took a single picture.

A few days after that our sitter went on vacation so Paul took those days off and took the girls and one of their friends to Crescent Bar.  I still had to work, but I enjoyed having the house and time to myself in the evenings.  They got back on Saturday the 28th and then on Sunday the 29th we left to go camping.  We went to Lake Cushman and it was so beautiful with the Olympic mountains all around.  We swam and floated in the lake a lot and they had a cool rope swing the girls enjoyed.




Other than losing Kona for about 20 minutes it was a great time!