Thursday, May 21, 2009

My 4-Week Plan

I weighed today and was surprised to see that I was 2 pounds less than I thought I would be! I'm 3 pounds over my lowest post-baby weight. I was thinking I'd be 5 and was hoping to lose it in the next 4 weeks, right before we go to Crescent Bar. But now if I lose 5 I'll be 2 pounds under my lowest post-baby weight and only 3 pounds over my wedding weight. Cool. So here are my goals for the next 4 weeks:

  • Eat no more than 1500 calories a day with the exception of ONE cheat meal per week.
  • Do a minimum of five 30-minute cardio sessions per week.
  • Do a minimum of 40 minutes of strength per week (2-3 days a week)

I'm hoping this blog will keep me motivated and accountable. As for today, I took a long walk with the girls (in their stroller) to the store and back, about 50 or 55 minutes total, and I've done about 10 minutes of strength. I had Special K cereal for breakfast, 100 calories of chocolate and some fruit for a snack, and a turkey sandwich with reduced-fat chips for lunch. Dinner will be a salmon burger on a whole wheat bun, black beans, grilled veggies and fruit.

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

So Far, So Good

But of course it's only day 3. Did the 30-Day Shred this morning, followed by a 30-minute walk. I had 2 blueberry waffles w/light syrup and coffee for breakfast, a few strawberries here and there, and Lean Cuisine chicken enchiladas for lunch. I'm really not planning on eating Lean Cuisine every day, as I know it has tons of sodium plus I'm not big on processed foods, but I had them and I wanted to get rid of them. Dinner tonight will be spinach and cheese manicotti and salad.

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Day 2

I think I managed to stay on track in spite of eating out last night. I did have a flight of wine, which was probably the equivalent of a glass and a half, and then Jerri and I shared 3 small plates but didn't finish them all. One was a lot of pita bread with different spreads so that was probably more than I should have had but overall it wasn't too bad of a day. I should do better the rest of this week.

Today I had Special K and coffee for breakfast, a banana for a mid-morning snack and a Lean Cuisine Pesto Chicken Flatbread for lunch. I started to do the 30-Day Shred but was kind of sore from yesterday so just went for a 30 minute walk instead, plus I did bits and pieces of various On Demand workouts, just trying some out to see if there's anything I may want to do in the future. I'll have an afternoon snack around 2:30 or 3:00 and then dinner is chicken caccitore and veggies. I also hope to go for another walk either this afternoon or after dinner but it's pouring down rain right now so we'll see.

Monday, May 18, 2009

New Plan

I've decided to try and just concentrate on one small goal for now rather than thinking ahead several months and trying to figure out how much I can lose by then, etc. So, starting today I'm going to try to lose 6 pounds by June 19th. We are leaving then for Crescent Bar for Father's Day weekend. I'll still be one pound over my lowest post-baby weight but I figure 7 is just a bit too much for only 4 1/2 weeks. It can be done, and I hope I do, but if not 6 or even 5 will be good. So that's it. I'm just going to worry about those 6 or 7 pounds in the next 4 1/2 weeks and not worry about what I can do by the end of summer or whatever.

So far today I had oatmeal for breakfast (plus my usual coffee with creamer) and a Lean Cuisine Deluxe Pizza with a few strawberries for lunch. I did the 30-Day Shred minus the 3rd circuit's cardio plus a 50-minute hilly walk with the girls. For dinner I'm going out with a friend to a wine bar, I think, so that's going to be challenging to keep the calorie intake down, but I'm hoping to just have one glass of wine and like a "small bites" appetizer or something. Plus I'll be doing more walking because we will walk there from her place and also walk around the whole retail area.

Saturday, May 2, 2009

14 months

The girls turned 14 months on the 28th. Here's what they're up to:

Olivia has been walking good for about a month now. She can climb up on their slide, sit down, push off and slide down all by herself. She can climb onto the couch or a chair by herself and can get back down without assistance. Everything is "da-da". It's kind of her word for "doggie", but she calls birds, cats, people, whatever "da-da". Daddy is "da-da" too, but there is a subtle difference in her pronounciation. She also just started saying "up", for when she wants me to pick her up. At just under 20 lbs, she can STILL wear most 6-9 clothes, although most 12 month stuff fits her fine, too. Jeans or pants are usually huge but tops and stretchy-type pants fit ok.

Kayley has been walking since 11 months and now flat out runs a lot. Her new word is "ba", for "ball". She also can climb up on the couch or a chair and get back down by herself. I think she's just under 22 lbs. and wears 12 month clothing, although she can wear 18 months in tops ok.

They both love playing outside, just running in the grass, playing on their slide, riding in their wagon or playing in the rocks along the alley. Oh, and they love to go to the park. It's so great that we have a nice park so close.

If only they would start sleeping more at night. They only sleep about 9 1/2 hours, from 9:00 until 6:30, sometimes less. But they usually nap for about 3 hours, which is great, so I guess it's a trade off.