Thursday, June 13, 2019

Typical Day Lately

Today was the last full day of 5th grade/elementary school.  I haven’t done a “typical day” post in a long time and I've been meaning to document a typical school day this whole school year and just haven’t gotten around to it.  So here was our school day routine up until today and then I hope to document our summer routine once we get into the swing of it.

I get up between 6:30 and 7:00, depending on whether I’m going to shower or not (sometimes I shower at night).  After peeing and brushing my teeth, I go downstairs to let Kona out and make coffee.  Sometimes while the coffee is brewing I will sweep the floor or unload the dishwasher.  Then I pour myself some coffee and go back upstairs to get ready.

I usually finish getting ready around 8:00 and will then get the girls up if they are not already.  Then I go downstairs and make their lunches.  I have given up making them the night before because I just don’t want one. more. thing to do in the evenings.  Sometimes Olivia makes her own but not usually.  Starting next year I am definitely going to push them to make their own every day but for now I don’t mind.

While I’m making lunches and cleaning up they come downstairs and eat breakfast (Olivia anyway. Kayley usually doesn’t but they have a snack in class so whatever) and then gather their things, get their shoes on and are out the door at 8:35.  Then I finish getting my things together and try to leave by 8:50 but it's usually more like 8:55, which gets me to work at 9:00 or a few minutes after (LOVE my 5 minute commute!).

On my lunch break I usually go home to walk Kona or at least let her out and play with her a bit.  But this time of year when the weather is better I sometimes just leave her out all day and then run errands on my lunch break instead.  But I usually go home whether she’s out or not.

Paul gets home around 3:15 and the girls get home at 4:00.  I get home between 5:30 and 6, depending on when I leave work or if I stop at the store or whatever.  I fix dinner, sometimes for all of us but sometimes they've already eaten,  After I/we eat and clean up I usually play a game on my phone for a few minutes and then take the dog for a walk or maybe just fold laundry or watch a show.  Sometimes Olivia and I will watch something together and sometimes even Kayley will watch with us but not usually.  She is mostly just on her phone facetiming friends or making Tik Toks (videos).  Sometimes she paints or draws or does gymnastics.

At 9 or 9:30 we take the phones away and Olivia pretty much goes straight to sleep but Kayley takes awhile to get sleepy so she will draw or read for awhile.

9:30 to 11:00 is my alone time (Paul goes to bed around 9 because he gets up so early) and I usually do some combination of reading and watching TV/Netflix/Hulu, then I go to bed.

No comments: